Book your place for CREST21 Awards: Surrey’s first sustainable business awards

SURREY’s first sustainable business awards, CREST21 Business Awards is now open for registration for the event on Thursday 20 May – everyone is welcome and it’s absolutely free! 

Live-streamed from The Lightbox in Woking, it is being presented by the Woking News & Mail in association with the University of Surrey’s Centre for Environment and Sustainability and Headline Sponsorship from Surrey County Council and it is now possible to book your places through the CREST21 Awards Eventbrite page. 

CREST21 Awards have drawn generous sponsorship and support from businesses and organisations based in Surrey and news of the shortlist of entry finalists is due to be published next week. 

Postponed last year because of the pandemic, the News & Mail and CES teams have taken the opportunity to rebuild the event in a hybrid format, making it more environmentally sustainable with the advantage of allowing greater access online to a wider audience. 

The initiative aims to inspire and motivate innovation by enterprises to protect the environment and promote sustainable working and lifestyle habits, the event will reveal the 2021 Sustainability Hero of the Year. 

Award categories are:

  • Resilience in Crisis,
  • Transforming Food,
  • Going Circular,
  • Efficiency Champion
  • Sustainability Impact

and winners will be chosen from our exciting list of short-listed contenders. 

CREST21 Awards provides an exclusive chance to gain insight on business sustainability from an exciting panel of speakers who include this year’s keynote speaker Joanna Yarrow, former Head of Sustainable & Healthy Living at IKEA. Joanna became something of a household name when she presented a number of TV programmes focused on protecting the environment, including the BBC’s Outrageous Wasters. 

She will be joined Ian Christie, senior lecturer at the University of Surrey’s Centre for Environment and Sustainability, who is also knowledge exchange coordinator for CUSP (Centre for the understanding of Sustainable Prosperity). 

The awards also welcome Ruth Nic Aoidh, an executive director at McLaren Automotive and Natalie Bramhall, Surrey County Council Cabinet Member for Environment and Climate Change. 

To register simply visit